Suiyobi No Campanella  Jugemu je taime
  • Release Date: December 18, 2015
  • Catalog No: SPCFC017-2015
  • Label: Tsubasa / Specific
  • Type: Electro and J-Music
Buy the vinyl

Suiyōbi No Campanella
- Jugem je t’aime

  • Napoléon

  • Momotaro

  • Marie-Antoinette

  • Sen No Rikyu

  • Jeanne d'Arc

  • Nero

LP, 700 copies, one-sided laser-etched yellow wax, 180 g, including CD and download code

RIYL: Moloko,, Goldfrapp, Perfume


Formed in 2012, SUIYÔBI NO CAMPANELLA (“Wednesday’s Bell-tower”) is technically a trio, but producer Kenmochi Hidefumi and hyper-vague jack-of-all-trades Dir.F shun the spotlight, leaving vocalist Komuai in the limelight. She’s more than up to the task – live, she’s a whirling dervish, in perpetual motion on stage, and she’s just as animated in Suiyôbi’s videos. Containing a great number of references to historical and pop Japanese culture, the music itself avoids settling in any particular style, conveying elements of pop, hip hop, lounge and electronic music, even UK garage and 90’s dance music, while still remaining typically indie, with Komuai often straight-up beautifully singing off-key. But Suiyôbi’s most talked about songs find her rapping over tracks, sometimes veering towards house or even coffee house, and oftentimes, featuring funny lyrics (“Jeanne d’Arc” revolves around the woes of working on a tour bus).
Having released 4 demos, 4 mini-albums and 2 singles, the band is ready to take the next step by releasing their european break-out debut on Specific. For the French label, “Jugem’ je t’aime“ is its first original Japanese release.

© 2011-2015, Specific Recordings
Powered by